Fresh Meat w/ New Bike

More
06 Jul 2014 16:47 #639063 by FNGCOC
Fresh Meat w/ New Bike was created by FNGCOC
Hello everyone, as of yesterday I became the proud owner of an 82 Kz1100 shaft drive. I rode her home last night over 100 miles. The last 10 of which were in the rain. It ran great & handled just fine.
Needless to say, it's old & needs a bit of work. Some for comfort/styling & some for performance & function.
I'm an auto mechanic by trade so feel fairly confident diving in to this project. For starters can anyone point me in the direction of a proper service manual & parts provider? In addition there are some immediate needs for safety/performance sake that need to be addressed. Such As; Tires, (dry rotted, cracked, worn). And the fuel tank coating is peeling away inside. Is this serviceable? Or is it better just to replace? It does start to run a little crappy when the fuel gets low, I don't want the carbs to get to affected.
Thanks in advance for all replies.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
06 Jul 2014 17:50 #639066 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Fresh Meat w/ New Bike
No eBay APP ID and/or Cert ID defined in Kunena configurationNo eBay APP ID and/or Cert ID defined in Kunena configurationWelcome aboard!

Here are a couple samples of the correct Kawasaki Service Manual on eBay. Don't waste your money on Haynes or Clymer manuals.

There are a number of online places to buy parts. One good one is www.z1enterprises.com/ another is www.partzilla.com Partzilla only sells genuine parts; Z1E sells both genuine and aftermarket and has very knowledgeable and helpful folks. If you have a problem finding a specific part ask on this forum as some folks have access to resources for obsolete parts.