First KZ and I think I'm in love.

More
20 Jun 2014 19:17 #637341 by hai1cats
First KZ and I think I'm in love. was created by hai1cats
I'm new to owning motorcycles and quiet young. My first bike is a 1978 Kz650 C2 and to be completely honest, I love it. It needs a little love and some cosmetics but it runs like a dream. I just wanted to know where do I start. I have an experienced friend at my disposal and I'm personally a me cu a nice in training. Tell me what you think!

1978 KZ650-C2
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 Jun 2014 21:32 #637360 by elfmagic17
Replied by elfmagic17 on topic First KZ and I think I'm in love.
Welcome to KZR! Nice score. They are quite easy to fall in love with. Start with getting a genuine Kawasaki repair Manuel. Then a tune-up valve lash cHeck and overall inspection to see how everything looks.

Kenny Hicks
74 Honda CB550
75 Honda CB360 (runs and rides good but not a show bike)
77 KZ650B1 (Runs Great, but needs painted and a little work.)

More
20 Jun 2014 21:40 #637361 by hai1cats
Replied by hai1cats on topic First KZ and I think I'm in love.
I actually have 2 bikes, not sure what the other one is but it came with the first and it's a parts bike. The motor runs just missing street legal requirements. Hoping to pick it up next weekend and start seeing what I have to work with. I love the C2 models paint job. It's perfect.

1978 KZ650-C2

• Proxy
  • User
  • 80% Human 20% Nuts/Bolts
More
21 Jun 2014 02:50 #637370 by Proxy
Replied by Proxy on topic First KZ and I think I'm in love.
Yep get a manual, Clean all electrical connectors, make sure no rust is getting through gas, inspect tires for wear and cracks, inspect brake hoses and then shoes and pucks, do a compression check as it's always nice to see where an engine stands.. You do have a nice bike there and with a little TLC it could be a great bike. Make her safe first then make her yours. GLuck..

Take it from me cuz I found