More
11 Mar 2014 16:25 #624859 by Dozer
New member was created by Dozer
Hello... I am Dozer. I have been riding and wrenching for many years. I have been in aviation for the past 51 years and recently retired. I currently ride and maintain a 05 Yam Road Star Silverado and a 2000 Honda Valk Tourer.
I joined the site hoping for some info I can use. I just acquired a 78 ZR650SR and I am restoring it for a friend. Its been under a tarp in a garage for the past 20 years or so. It has 4000 miles on the clock and it looks like it was just parked yesterday. The frame, tins and paint are excellent but the tires, even though they hold air, are suffering from hardness and age.
Externally, the tank looks like new but there is some rust inside.

My goal is to bring it back to life again. I have a PDF of the Kaw maint manual and a copy from Clymer but I dont have a copy of the owners handbook to answer some of my questions. This looks like a good place to get it provided I can get past this captcha code. Those distorted words/letters are very difficult to read for a human let alone a bot not to mention the unintelligible MP3 voice. Anyway, I am looking forward to meeting y'all. So, here it goes...maybe

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 Mar 2014 16:44 #624865 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic New member
Welcome aboard! "78 ZR650SR" Typo? 1978 KZ650-SR which is officially the KZ650-D1 or KZ650-D1A depending on which carbs are on it. If it has the carbs with the orifice in the 10:00 position as shown by the arrow in the image below, it has VM22SS carbs and is a KZ650-D1A. If the carbs do not have that orifice it has VM24SS carbs and it is a KZ650-D1. This is important to know if you get into tuning the carbs. Also, here's a link that should be helpful when working on a KZ. Ed
kzrider.com/forum/10-new-members/589649-...r-savannah-ga#594587

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)
Attachments:

More