KZ Newb

• WarTiger
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Don't be scared...CUT IT UP!!!
More
17 Feb 2012 10:38 #504566 by WarTiger
KZ Newb was created by WarTiger
I just becam e the proud new father of an 82 KZ1000-M. I just finished my last build this past fall (82 Yamaha XV750 pictured in avatar), and I have found my next bucket of bolts. I thought it was a great find until I pulled the head and found that the rust monster had set up shop on #3. It was too bad to consider boring out so I have all my newish parts on the way. Time to get busy busting some knuckles. I will put some pics up soon of the disaster I uncovered. True gear heads will aprreciate the "ouch" factor when you see the pics.

All of that aside, I have some big plans for this beast. So I am sure I will be picking some brains around the forum. Although I am new to the KZ scene, I have a lot of fabrication experience, so hopefully I will be able to offer up some help as well as asking for it.

- Caleb -
82 KZ1000M2 CSR (POS with loads of potential!!)
82 XV750 Custom Cafe (Former POS....potential revealed!!)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Feb 2012 11:34 #504581 by Mcdroid
Replied by Mcdroid on topic KZ Newb
Welcome Caleb...looking forward to the photos. :)

Michael
Victoria, Texas

1982 GPz750
1977 KZ1000A
1978 KZ1000A
1982 GPz1100
1975 Z2A

• WarTiger
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
18 Feb 2012 22:41 #504937 by WarTiger
Replied by WarTiger on topic KZ Newb
As promised, here are some pics. As I said above, it isn't pretty. And yes that is mud in addition to the rust. The PO had stripped out the plug threads and thought sticking a tap in the hole would keep the water out. Then to top it off it just sat out in the weather for who knows how long. On the good side I found a block w/ pistons in really good shape that should be here in a few days. The crankcase and all components are in great shape so the damage was limited to the top end.