KZ750 LTD - Looking at getting one and need opinions please

• vespertillio
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
10 Jun 2008 08:27 #219119 by vespertillio
Hey all,

Newbie here and am looking at getting one of these. I recently completed the MSF course and was wondering if you folks think this would be a good starter bike. I'm 6'0 around 165 and 40 years young.

I've found one locally that's selling for $1500. I just called and left a message on it but wanted to get a world opinion lol.

Here is what they say which isn't much (I'm not sure what year it is):
New Tires, Brakes, Fork Seals and Plugs 15K miles.

I'll try to post the pic.

Anyway, I'm a total newbie and not a mechanic by any means, but willing to dive in and learn.

Do you folks thinks this may be a good first bike? That and if I do go see it, what should I look for.

Thanks for your time and consideration with my quest for a first bike.

Fred
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jun 2008 10:01 - 10 Jun 2008 10:09 #219137 by OKC_Kent
Looks like my 83, but the seat is different, (still a Kawasaki seat though).

Not a bad bike to learn on, and plenty of power and comfort if you decide to start carrying passengers or make long hi-way trips later on.. If it's in real good shape the price is about right, but try to get it cheaper, no harm in asking.

Here is a link to a pretty exhaustive checklist.
www.clarity.net/~adam/buying-bike.html

Do you have any friends into bikes that can check it out with you? It's nice to have two sets of eyes and ears when you're looking at used machines.

By the way, I'm 6'1" and find the stock handlebars on these LTD machines all wrong, and you may keep that in mind when you try her on for size. Handlebars are easy to switch to something more comfortable after you buy it.

Oklahoma City, OK
78 KZ650 B2 82,000+ miles
Last edit: 10 Jun 2008 10:09 by OKC_Kent.

More
10 Jun 2008 13:09 #219167 by Link14
Hey Fred,