Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

KZ700 RPM trouble after tip over :/ 21 Nov 2015 07:01 #699752

• Jekyll86
  • Jekyll86's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
This is my first post in a tech forum and I am new to KZR, so any extra info you guys need to help me figure out whats wrong, just let me know! Sorry this is long. Ill probably go overboard with the info since I often read *need more info for long distance support* kind of thing. I'm not a mechanic but I'm somewhat mechanically inclined and a quick study so bring what you got!

The bike: (can't figure out how to post an image within the post... so its attached.)
Its a Kz700 I purchased this summer as a project bike. It didn't run due to what the guy called "electrical gremlins" but it turned over when I got it home and checked all the connections. B)

*relevant work already done* I replaced the cylinder block gasket, the head and head cover gasket (good compression), and replaced the carb holders and have ben through the carbs with compressed air and cleaner. The bike didn't come with a stock air box so I ordered a set of pods and jetted it. Shorty high flow mufflers were put on the stock headers.

Starting it up for the first time was glorious! My first ride was to the Lowes and taco bell around the corner. I didn't care where I was going as long as I was going there on two wheels! It ran well, no leaks, great throttle response all the pilot and main jet systems. no laggs etc.

The Bad - Rejoicing was short lived. Rode if for about 3 days before the poo hit the fan. I was warming it up while it was parked on a sidewalk apparently slopped a tiny bit. I watched as the thing just rolled over on its side (left) :( and I was just far enough away to not e able to do anything about it. Bike shut off on its own (hopefully only due to fuel not getting to the jets but still not good...)