Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Realistically speaking, how much would it cost? 26 Jan 2015 14:23 #659812

• MannDude
  • MannDude's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
I've got a KZ440 TLD that has been sitting around for over a year. It needs a new starter, but needs some cosmetic fixes too. Roughly speaking, since I am a newb and have no idea what I am doing, would it cost to make it visually appealing and running well?

This is what it looks like now:

It supposedly just needs a new starter to run. And obviously needs some TLC and new tires and some care.

This is ideally what I'd like it to look like when done (give or take, but as a motivational image):

or

I bought the bike in late 2013, early 2014 and I thought I'd find time to get it up and running but haven't even really worked on it. I'm not familiar with bikes at all and have listed it for sale locally.

BUT, I was browsing eBay last night and it didn't seem too expensive to find parts for these. Hell, a used running engine was like $80, etc. So now I'm sort of motivated again to work on it, as it appears parts aren't too costly.

So, roughly, can someone give me an idea of the cost involved in restoring/fixing something like this up? I don't have much money invested in it already and can sell it as is without issue. It's my first motorcycle so there is some sort of appeal in keeping it and fixing it up, but I've not been very motivated to go out and rip it apart either. If it won't cost an arm and a leg to restore I may start ripping it up and replacing stuff on it though. :)

Apologies in advanced for the vague and open ended question, ha!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by MannDude.

Realistically speaking, how much would it cost? 26 Jan 2015 14:36 #659814

• SWest
  • Sustaining Member
  • 10 22 2014
  • Thank you received: 2629