• Page:

TOPIC:

Intermittent cut out 25 Jun 2006 23:49 #57174

• RoMoMoTo
  • RoMoMoTo's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi people-
I'm a newbie here, though not to motorcycles, with 40 years in the saddle. I recently picked up an '82 KZ1100 bagger, and have a problem that has me stumped. It will start and run fine, then one cylinder will cut out, maybe two, then it will clear out and run on four again. Seems to be when I roll off the throttle and coast, then roll back on that the problem usually occurs, though sometimes at constant speed (low rpm and throttle opening.) Under acceleration, sooner or later the dead cylinders will kick back in.
Some background and diagnostic history: 17,000 miles on bike, K&N filter (from the looks of it) and aftermarket (H-D restrictive) mufflers. First time this problem occurred I pulled the plugs (shut down while it was running on two) and was surprised to see no fouling. Plugs show maybe a little lean, if anything. Replaced plug wires and coils with new/known good parts. WIth plugs out and grounded, cranking the starter showed weakish spark on 1&4, none on 2&3. Switch black/green primary leads, problem follows wiring, not coil. Did pickup coil resistance check and igniter test as per Clymers, within normal range.
Does this sound like a likely candidate for the coil relay mod? The rolloff/roll on business makes me suspect carbs, but as we know, if it sounds like carbs...
When it cuts back in, it's like flipping a switch, and when it's running on four, it makes good power. Whatever carb flukes it may have, I can't help thinking I need to chase down an electrical gremlin.
Thanks in advance for any help.
RoMoMoTo

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Intermittent cut out 26 Jun 2006 04:50 #57187

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44