• Page:

TOPIC:

KZ700 with returning running issues 20 Apr 2024 14:29 #897902

• timberleek
  • timberleek's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
Hi everyone,

I have KZ700 that has been troublesome for some years now. When it runs right, it's great. But it often doesn't.

Everytime it gets out out winter storage, it runs like it's been at the bottom of a lake and i'd be busy for a while getting it back again.
I've had the carbs off too much times to count.
Back then i was a student, so some choices were made on a budget (starting with buying a bike that someone did a lot of half-assed work on). Nowadays i'm fixing a lot of cheap choices from then. I just want it done properly now.
But i'm a but stuck on how to attack this.

Some background on the bike:
Originally it's a KZ700, the bottom end still is. But along the way, someone fitted a KZ750 cilinder on it (738cc stamped in the cilinders and bore size to match). The carbs are Keihin with black plastic tops, they state "1526 ua13" on the body . Presumably from a KZ750N Spectre. The barrels may be from that as well.
No idea if the head is original 700 or 750. Are there differences and how to identify? There is a different valve clearance specification for the 700.

Earlier work
  • I've had the head rebuild about 2 years ago. New valves and recut the seats. Guides were fine, seals were replaced.
  • Extremely loud and rusting exhaust was replaced by a Kerker megaphone system (new reproduction system).
  • Intake boots were replaced a some time, but can't remember when.
After the last storage period it came out bad again, And i'm done with that. It shouldn't need weeks of TLC everytime it sits idle for a couple months (no ethanol gas).

Recent work:
  • Took out the wiring loom for a full inspection. Removed all tape, found some damaged wires and replaced or repaired all of them. Also removed the reserve lighting device and hazards light relay as both systems were out of order.