Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

VM26SS sync questions 31 Oct 2023 10:08 #891155

• motomisfit
  • motomisfit's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 49
I’m near the end of my 76 900 LTD restoration and am waiting on the vacuum gauge kit to try and sync these carbs.

What I have right now for 1-2-3-4 respectively is 7 1/2, 9, 4, 11 inches vacuum. Warm motor, air corrector jets, K&N filters, Kerker exhaust.

As I’ve never done this before, are those numbers way off? My rebuild included cylinder honing and new rings. The bike runs great and idles pretty good. Spark plugs look pretty good. Takes a bit of cranking when cold to start but starts immediately when warm.

Thanks for any advice.
Chris

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Last edit: by motomisfit.

VM26SS sync questions 31 Oct 2023 11:20 #891159

• Moose1800
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 260
Here's a pic I took while syncing my VM 28 carbs on my 76 LTD, high miles bike with freshly rebuilt carbs.

VM26SS sync questions 31 Oct 2023 11:42 #891161

• zed1015
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1470
Forget the actual vac readings and just get them all pulling the same then set the idle.
These VM slide carbs don't have a register carb ( unlike most CV's ) so just start by adjusting the one that's furthest out from the rest and work from there.
Ideally you should set all the slide adjusters halfway along their threads and bench sync ( level all the slides the same) prior to install so that you are unlikely to run out of adjustment on any individual slide.
AIR CORRECTOR JETS FOR VM CARBS AND ETHANOL RESISTANT VITON CHOKE PLUNGER SEAL REPLACMENT FOR ALL CLASSIC AND MODERN MOTORCYCLE CARBURETTORS
kzrider.com/forum/23-for-sale/611992-air-corrector-jets-

VM26SS sync questions 31 Oct 2023 12:16 #891165

• motomisfit
  • User
Oops, my bad. Yes VM26SS