Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Is this normal? 02 Apr 2006 14:02 #36190

• LTD
  • LTD's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
This may sound like a silly question to some people,but I am new at fixing my own bike. Can some one tell me what the small hoses are for that are coming out of my carbs. There is one hose per carb and each one comes out of the bottom of the carbs. The other ends are not connected to anything and every now and then they drip a little gas. Is this normal? My bike is a 77 KZ1000 LTD.

Post edited by: LTD, at: 2006/04/02 17:05

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Is this normal? 02 Apr 2006 14:09 #36192

• RetroRiceRocketRider
  • User
  • ...bring in the machine that goes PING!
  • Thank you received: 29
Those are the drain hoses for the carb float bowls, and helps prevent the carbs from overflowing into the engine and airbox and instead drain off through them.
And no, it isn't normal for them to drip any gas if everything is at it should be.
More than likely one or more of the float valves are either worn, sticking, or clogged with debris.
You should be able to remove the float bowls without having to remove the entire carb rack to examine the float valves and clean/inspect the float valve seats.

And there's no such thing as a silly or stupid questions here, but you'll be guaranteed some questionable answers ocassionally. :laugh:

Only a few members here (WiredGeorge for instance) seem to have been fortunate enough to have been born with an infallable all-encompassing knowledge of motorcycles :laugh: :whistle:.
Actually WiredGeorge is KZr's resident carb guru and a pretty good guy.
And don't worry, we all had to start somewhere. And even now are STILL learning as we go along. And if we're lucky enough, we eventually are able to share what we learned with others such as yourself who are new to motorcycles.

Post edited by: RetroRiceRocketRider, at: 2006/04/02 17:21