Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Gimme the low-down on a carb clean/rebuid? 30 Mar 2006 12:05 #35476

• MattBlack
  • MattBlack's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Ok, so I know there are a ton of write ups and stuff on cleanin carbs and such, but I just want to hear basically how hard it will be for me to do on the difficulty scale. I have zero experience with carburettors and the thought of having to get them all off, clean them, then tune them so they all work well together scares the crap out of me. The biek runs now, albeit, like crap, but a running bike is better for me now that a non-running bike because I royaly screwed something up.

So I guess the real question is, is a clean and tune something that a novice liek myself can do? And what tips, tools etc do y'all suggest before I take a crack at this?

I just want to make sure I have everythign I have on hand that I'll need so I can basically start it and finish it over a weekend without having to run out for for things I hould have had in the beginning.

Thanks again.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Gimme the low-down on a carb clean/rebuid? 30 Mar 2006 17:23 #35561

• DanOz7Five0
  • User
It realy depends on what you want to do. If your just looking for a cleanup (the place to begin) there really isnt all that much to it. You should get new bowl gaskets and o-rings (available from Z1 . They also have carb rebuild kits that include some jets.