Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Wandering Idle? 21 Mar 2006 12:13 #33092

• puckaveli
  • puckaveli's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
This is on a 1979 KZ650. This has happened both times I've ridden the bike since I got it. Once the engine warms up it will idle around 1500 (my manual hasn't arrived so I'm don't know what it should be) then once I get rolling and ride though a few gears and come to another stop the idle will stay up near 4000. The bike is still new to me so I'm not great at finding the idle adjuster under the tank blindly yet. So I will use the clutch to grab a little bit and it brings it down to around 3000 until I can stop where I have time too look under and adjust the idle. So my question would be would engine vibration be causing the adjuster to unadjust, or is it from an issue with the carbs not closing? The engine runs ok and I don't feel any excessive vibration through the seat or bars. I'm new to carbed bikes so speak to me like I'm stupid if it's a carb issue.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Wandering Idle? 21 Mar 2006 12:39 #33099

• OKC_Kent
  • User
  • Thank you received: 20
Your idle when warmed up should be 950-1050 rpm.

Do you have a large spring right where you are adjusting the idle? You should have one there. Or it may be there but broken. This spring returns the carbs to an idle position.

Another thing to check would be the throttle cables. Pull off the gas tank and check every inch of the cable, looking for kinks or sharp bends. If you see a kink replace the cable, you can get them for $15.

The cables may be routed wrong and holding the carbs open. Does the idle change when you turn the handlebars from side to side? If it does then the cables are routed wrong. The cables should make large smooth curves from the handlebars thru the forks, into the frame area and onto the carbs.