• Page:

TOPIC:

multiple issues? 29 Jun 2006 11:01 #58085

• EMNM30
  • EMNM30's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi Everybody!
Newbie here, but have had my license for just 2 years, but trying to learn more about my bike by reading posts. Well, since I don't want to risk fixing it myself I'll probably bring it somewhere, but wanted a few opinions before getting "taken for a ride" on my bill... :blink: but I want to ride on a safe bike.
So, I have a 1980 KZ650 F1:
1. I'm pretty sure it's the starter, all the lights work and I know it's a new battery, the electric start clicks, but doesn't want to start - at least it still has kickstart, which has been working better since I got it-it took about a 1/2 hour before I could kickstart it the first time. Althought the previous owner got it to electric start when I went to pick it up-strange. Spark plugs are new as well.
2. 1st gear, idle issues? have to pull on throttle a bit to keep running, or it just eventually dies. Sometimes will take off fine, dies right away, or it seems like it is going to go, but sputters and dies. I've had the last happen about 5 times in a row last night before I finally got it go again.
3. Also, pulling clutch in on the lower gears revs the engine really hard, the higher gears are very much smoother shifting-see my number 5 below. Gears are points, and the PO said he did have to get a used "new" points at a bike yard (or it was the cover for it, don't recall clearly), but I'm sure it's not as good as a real new part. Lower gears (mainly 1-3) are also hard to shift sometimes-harder than the higher gears.
4. I think the hazards just need to be wired since all the other lights work-that really puzzles me.
5. Higher speeds 60-65, engine has really loud whirring sound-not whining yet, just seems louder than it should be, although it is 20 odd years old.