Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC:

Home machining questions 10 Jun 2006 18:43 #53502

• steell
  • steell's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 207
Ok, it's my turn :)
This question is addressed to those who have a machine shop in their garage/basement/bedroom/whatever, and we'll just ignore those who say it can't be done or think we are idiots :D
Number one: I'm new at the machining thing.

I'd like to know what you use to lock the cylinder head on the mill table? I don't have a vise large enough, and can't clamp it on the top because I'm using a flycutter.

Second question is, do you use a plate on top of the block to prevent the liners from moving when you bore the cylinders on the mill?

APE Jay/etc can just skip answering, nothing personal but I'm not about to spend the bucks (that I don't have anyway) on a Sunnen or Van Norman boring bar, I'm not working on anyone else's motors, just my own stuff (and I have spares) :)
Anyone have a decent adjustable hone they can sell cheap :D :D

Oh yeah, before people start complaining, I have an 80 KZ750 twin (but I'm also building a GPz750 motor or two). :evil: :evil:

Post edited by: steell, at: 2006/06/10 21:46
KD9JUR

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Home machining questions 10 Jun 2006 18:56 #53509

• Pterosaur
  • Visitor
If I may ask, what exactly are you trying to *do* to the head?

(....and if you say "mill the head", you're first on my list when I take over here...) :evil:

...it'd help get a grip on how to answer...

Home machining questions 10 Jun 2006 19:14 #53519

• arobsum
  • User
  • Thank you received: 10
well, with a car engine they bolt torque plates to the block while they machine it, might be something similar
when they bore/hone out bike blocks. not sure.

Home machining questions 10 Jun 2006 19:41 #53532

• Duck
  • User
  • e vica na i sau na ga
  • Thank you received: 35
have not tried but...how about

loctite the jugs in