• Page:

TOPIC:

Close calls 22 Aug 2018 04:53 #789554

• Troubled1
  • Troubled1's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Inline 4 ever
  • Thank you received: 2
This is my first year back in the saddle after a 10 year break. After some fiddling around I finally got my 81 kz750H on the road in June.

The second week of riding I picked my daughter up from school. On our way home a woman pulled out of an intersection without even looking for traffic. I was watching and pretty much anticipated it so I had already had a plan in mind.

The second semi-close call was on a 4 lane street. I was in the center lane and a cop pulled out of a side street turning left. He saw me and hit the brakes hard. He was only halfway into the outer lane and I could see him mouthing “sorry”. I waved and kept going.

Last Thursday was the closest call yet. Again on a 4 lane street, I was in the center lane and a woman in a hurry did a lane change without looking or signaling. I hit the brakes hard, the front end dove way down. Thankfully the cop following me wasn’t too close. She instantly hit the lights and siren. I pulled off to the side of the road and the woman that cut me off was pulled over. As a rode by the police Officer gave me a thumbs up. I didn’t stick around but on my return trip 10 minutes later, the woman was just pulling away. She was definitely ticketed for the incident.

What have been your close calls this season?
1981 kz750H

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Close calls 22 Aug 2018 06:51 #789561

• slmjim+Z1BEBE
  • User
  • Enjoy Life! IT HAS AN EXPIRATION DATE!
  • Thank you received: 597
Deer.
Come bounding out of the roadside brush at full run. We pass in less than 25 ft in space, maybe one second in time.
Twice this year.

At least cagers can be semi-predictable.

Good Ridin'
slmjim & Z1BEBE
A biker looks at your engine and chrome.
A Rider looks at your odometer and tags.

1972 Z1 x2
1974 Z1-A x2
1975 Z1-B x2
1993 CB 750 Nighthawk x2