Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

1983 kz550 LTD ready for work! 09 Apr 2006 16:45 #38110

• Rocko
  • Rocko's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hello everyone, I am soon to be the new owner of a 1983 kz550 LTD and I am really excited about finding this website! I have never worked on a motorcyle before but I have experience with everything from lawnmowers, to four-wheelers and mustangs. I have a few questions for everyone, and any help you can provide for me would be greatly appreciated.

I am looking into getting a new seat for the bike, yesterday I was browsing the internet and found one company that made seats with the passenger's being a "fastback" style. This is what I am looking to get, but when I was looking around today I couldn't find it again!!! Does anyone know where I can get a good fastback style seat?? As a matter of fact, what are some good websites with aftermarket parts in general?

Also, the bike needs a new set of lifters. I have a kawasaki dealer near me and can pick them up, but as I said, I have no experience working with motorcyles in specific. Is a lifter change a difficult task?

Any and all help is appreciated! Thanks ahead of time! Once I get my bike I'll be sure to post some pictures.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

1983 kz550 LTD ready for work! 09 Apr 2006 17:57 #38131

• neilage66
  • User
  • Thank you received: 5
Here's a good place to start...welcome to the world of motorcycling:

www.denniskirk.com/jsp/common/Frontpage.jsp

1983 kz550 LTD ready for work! 09 Apr 2006 18:04 #38136

• oldcoldankles
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3