• Page:

TOPIC:

Media blasting query 22 May 2024 15:30 #899532

• Mcdroid
  • Mcdroid's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Gone Kwackers
  • Thank you received: 306
I am presented with a rare opportunity to acquire a media blaster and I am a complete novice at use of this equipment.  I am aware of the different types of media available but would like some input on what others have used and what I might expect...parts to be blasted include fuel tanks, fenders, stands, swing arms, and just about any metal piece on my bikes.  I look forward to your help.
Michael
Victoria, Texas

1982 GPz750
1977 KZ1000A
1978 KZ1000A
1982 GPz1100
1975 Z2A

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Media blasting query 22 May 2024 17:06 #899535

• Cra-z1
  • User
  • Thank you received: 107
I have been using SS media for years but I try not to blast too many large items that are painted. If I do I remove as much paint as I can. If I have large items that have been painted I take them to the local blaster and have them do it. I clean all my engine cases heads cylinders and small parts like calipers master cylinders with the SS media. I can clean the media if I need to. I have a std Harbor Frt cabinet that has been modified a bit. 
If you insist on blasting tanks, fender and such I would look at garnet media or coal slag. I have used both in the past.

I have developed my own process for cases
The following user(s) said Thank You: Mcdroid, Wookie58

Last edit: by Cra-z1.

Media blasting query 22 May 2024 17:21 #899536

• hardrockminer
  • Sustaining Member
  • Thank you received: 1056