Remove rust, clean the bike (total newb)

More
11 Jul 2017 10:52 #766682 by CultureClap
Remove rust, clean the bike (total newb) was created by CultureClap
Hey y'all,

This is my first post, after my new member post. I have pictures; and I have done preliminary research through the Googlator.

I just picked up a 1983 440 LTD; there is rust on the frame, and gunk on the engine; as well as paint peeling on the brake fluid box?! How do I clean it all?! I want to make 'er shine again!!

It seems like WD40 and steel wool for the frame?!?

Tooth brush and WD40 for the engine parts?

CocaCola for the chrome?? With a less abrasive material for removing the oxidation build-up?

++++
Also, side question. Love this bike; love that its a Kawasaki; but I am interested in removing the decals on the sides of gas tank. There are screw holes? Do I need to empty the tank before remove the decals, and a patch the holes?

What do I patch the holes with??

Total newb questions; thanks for taking the time to help a young buck out!

Total newb --- 1983 KZ440 LTD 13,790 miles -- runs, but now to make it shine!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• ThatGPzGuy
  • Sustaining Member
  • More Sparky than Speed Racer
More
11 Jul 2017 15:32 #766703 by ThatGPzGuy
Replied by ThatGPzGuy on topic Remove rust, clean the bike (total newb)
Welcome to the forum.
SOS pads will scratch and dull the paint. I use it for some chrome but with a very light touch. I've heard of people using aluminum foil on chrome but I haven't tried it yet (need to).
First clean the greasy gunk. I like Simple Green because it doesn't attack paint like Purple Power does. Use a tooth brush and warm/hot water if possible. From the pics it looks like the frame could do with a re-spray.
Your brake cylinder needs to be stripped and painted. Chemical stripper for aircraft works best. I usually follow that up with a bead blaster, and then PJ1 paint baked in an oven.