Suggestions for using Duplicolor Metalcast?

More
12 Aug 2013 15:53 #601036 by Shdwdrgn
I bought several various spray paints this weekend, and found something I like using the duplicolor silver metal specks, followed by a coat of orange metalcast. I like the idea of spray-painting my tank because then I can do my own touch-ups down the road. However, I found that using the transparent metalcast really takes a special touch...

So for anyone that has successfully used it in the past -- HOW? I tried painting a section of an old sign as a test area. The metalcast seems to go on very light at first, then suddenly builds up, but as it dries I noticed about half the area looks like it was dry-painted. It has almost a feathery surface, rather than glossy, and looks more like a dusty red than the transparent yellow-orange color that I see around the sides. I've done quite a lot of spray painting in my day, but I've never worked with a paint like this before, so I'm open to any suggestions?

1981 KZ1000-JK1
She's a beautiful mess, and I've made her all mine

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
12 Aug 2013 18:00 #601052 by pb3
I used the red metal cast over silver on my vmax. Turned out pretty good. I wet sanded the silver with 2000 grit before spraying the metal cast. I then cleared it with Nason clear. You can also buy it in rattle can. Just prep everything well and it should be all right.

Attachment 20130417_080723.jpg not found

Attachment 20130418_234020.jpg not found

Attachments:

More
12 Aug 2013 18:16 #601054 by Shdwdrgn
Replied by Shdwdrgn on topic Suggestions for using Duplicolor Metalcast?
OK so wet-sanding the metal flake doesn't affect its 'sparkle'? That stuff looks fantastic in the sunlight, so I don't want to dull it down any.