Amateur flames

More
20 May 2012 14:42 #523559 by Medina
Amateur flames was created by Medina
Right side of tank was messed up from PO. Gas leak, rust, bubbly paint.
I plan on doing a frame off but not for two years. what to do till then...
I know its amateurish- its my first attempt, I didn't even take the tank off, started out just to spray touch up but wound up spending an evening with the boy screwing around.

Wet sanded off roughest areas, could have..should have..done a better job, but this was my first attempt- and honestly, I really thought I'd just do it, then before it dried wipe it off with lacquer thinner and just put an american flag sticker over the whole mess.
[img

[img

free hand large razor isn't the slickest...but I could see how it would be easier with an exacto, tank off and "next time"
[img

[img

spray can... I didn't think past the cutting out the stencil...spotted two cans of enamel spray
[img

that looked like crap..so, thought add moar
[img

At this point, I realized it was no where, anywhere close to anything..but- I also realized the potential to do it correctly...learn as you go..
[img

ample clear coat
[img

[img

ok, HUGE problem, looked perfect, well, not perfect, you know what I mean, when I applied the clear coat, the black started bleeding thru where I razored over it!! WTF
[img

[img

[img

Be kind, it was hardly pristine before I started, I wasn't terribly concerned about doing anything other than a) having fun, b) screwing around c) hiding rust/bubbling crap area

1981 KZ1100 Vetter "Luminous Navy Blue" DAMN YOU COLOR CODES!
Medina, Oh
My Bike Thread
www.kzrider.com/forum/10-new-members/469298-from-ohio

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
20 May 2012 15:37 #523572 by ramtough_63
Replied by ramtough_63 on topic Amateur flames
thats really cool i always tell people just go for it. experimenting is the way we learn.