Questions, questions, too many questions!

• Killman
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • Now with 99% more ducks
More
20 Apr 2011 16:02 - 20 Apr 2011 16:12 #445849 by Killman
So I've gots me a 1982 Kz440Ltd D.She's long on VROOM, but short on looks and creature comforts.

I'm gonna change that.:woohoo:
Gots me some spiffy used parts on the way from the magical land of Ebay. Gots me some questions too, being a complete and total newb to this stuff.:blink:
So here goes...

Speedo from a 1980 Kz440:
My speedo hasn't worked in a coon's age. The mechanic, that I had give this bike an overhaul when I bought her, showed me that the cable still actuates, so it's time to replace the guage. I figure the extra 12k on this thing's odo is about fair. Any nasty little surprises to replacing a speedo that I should know about?

Low backrest from a 1980 Kz400H:
Looking to use my little gem for lots of camping and fishing type rides this summer. So the luggage rack is a must, (pretty sure the gf's gonna thank me for the backrest too;) ). From what I've been able to suss out, the smaller 1980-83 Kz models are pretty forgiving when it comes to compatibility of parts. Hoping this thing will fit?
There's a fair bit of rust on the luggage rack. Now my cure for rust is to soak it in vinegar, surface rust usually wipes right off after that. Is this going to screw up the metal/aluminum, especially if there's still some sort of finish under the crud? Any better ideas?
Any advice on sourcing out a new backrest pad?

Engine guards from a 1982 Kz440 A3 Ltd:
I've seen a couple of posts referring to these things folding over, but I haven't found any highway bars and these were available and somewhat affordable. Thinking they'll do until I can find something better. I want something down there to protect the pretty bits, (for when I get some prettier bits) as I've already inherited a pretty sizeable ding from the PO. At least he was nice enough to cover it up with a kinda hack matte-black paint job.