How to paint stripes? Which is first?

More
14 Jun 2007 19:28 #149535 by Jornum1
How to paint stripes? Which is first? was created by Jornum1
I have my tank primed and ready for paint.
I am painting it semi-gloss black, and want to put two silver stripes down it.
I assume I paint the base, then tape off and paint the stripes? This is my first tank job, so I am new to this. I have read just about every paint thread, and am following the one at the top of this category. But I have not found anything on painting stripes.
Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.
Jay

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 Jun 2007 19:42 #149538 by another82kz
Replied by another82kz on topic How to paint stripes? Which is first?
I painted my truck last year with one large stripe running right down the center of the cowl . The truck was painted blue and the stripe was silver . I painted a silver base over most of the hood and then masked off the stripe and then painted the blue base after , and finally clearing over the whole shebang . Nice part is no tape edge and I think it is easier to draw out your stripe first rather than do it after the main base has been shot . You can also do it the other way around . Anytime I am painting graphics of anykind I use the paint I am going to use the least first and then use the main coat second . Less time worrying about cleaning your gun too .

\"Its all just a bunch of nuts and bolts.\"

1982 KZ1000LTD
1974 Superbeetle
1999 Grand Cherokee

More
15 Jun 2007 04:10 #149587 by Jornum1
Replied by Jornum1 on topic How to paint stripes? Which is first?
hmm I guess that makes sense. I didnt mention that the stripe is a metallic aluminum color. So I didnt know how it would do with the semi-flat. I guess I will try it and see how it comes out. I will post some pics when I am done. I have been taking pics along the way.

More
15 Jun 2007 07:14 #149612 by Jornum1