Paint, powder, anodize for calipers?

More
27 Feb 2007 11:29 #115828 by Nelson
Paint, powder, anodize for calipers? was created by Nelson
I'm thinking of painting them gloss black. But I envision peeling, chips, etc. especially by the bleeder which will certainly get some fluid on it.

Any thoughts on paint? Powder coat? Anodize? I've never tried these before. I don't want chrome or polishing, too flashy for my taste.

maybe engine paint? I can use pro auto stuff and shoot it with a real paint gun if needed, but I'd prefer spray can convenience. thanks!

Restoring and customizing a KZ1000. Click here to read about it.
Plated KTM, DR650, KZ1000, Former MC mechanic (eons ago). 40 yrs. of dirt and street.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Feb 2007 12:32 #115842 by KzJim
Replied by KzJim on topic Paint, powder, anodize for calipers?
Powder will hold up well, i have coated a few sets of auto calipers without any trouble.. just make sure that whoever does the work gets the part really clean... most places will use chemical resistant powder so no problems there and the heat generated by braking will not effect the powder either.

Naiveté in grownups is often charming, but when coupled with vanity, it is indistinguishable from stupidity.
Tis better to remain silent and thought a fool - than to speak up and remove all doubt.
Did ever think that maybe you've been doing it wrong all these years?

More
27 Feb 2007 13:17 #115849 by mariozappa
Replied by mariozappa on topic Paint, powder, anodize for calipers?
They make brake caliper paint that is supposed to resist peeling and cracking from brake fluid and heat.
I got mine at wal-mart.

1977 KZ650C1
and the KZ650/KZ750 Conversion ;)

More
27 Feb 2007 15:07 #115864 by Nelson
Replied by Nelson on topic Paint, powder, anodize for calipers?
hey mariozappa
have u tried that stuff yet? do you recall the brand?
thanks