1980 KZ440 LTD Belt Adjustment

• iWant2RideMyBike
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • I just want to ride and have a good time doin it.
More
10 Sep 2019 08:59 #810641 by iWant2RideMyBike
1980 KZ440 LTD Belt Adjustment was created by iWant2RideMyBike
Hello, everyone! Sorry if I lack any proper etiquette here since this is my first time posting and I am a new user.

A tad bit of back story:
I have a 1980 KZ440 LTD D (Belt), which I have recently gotten to fixing after an unknown problem occurred last summer. Any time I would put the bike into gear, it would make a terrible grinding sound and I would get no power delivery to the rear wheel at all. After a ton of digging, researching, and taking the entire clutch apart, I found out that the output shaft's main bolt that holds the engine pulley for the belt in place had somehow come completely loose. The extra play from being loose led to my engine pulley becoming stripped completely, which is why I had zero power transfer to the rear wheel and the bad grinding sound. I already went about tracking down replacement parts and now have them in my possession. And here I get to my problem/question...

The Main Question:
Because the original engine pulley was completely stripped, it was able to just slip it off. However, I cannot just slip on the new one since it isn't worn out. I checked my Clymer manual and the original service manual, and it mentions possibly having to take off the rear wheel for a new pulley and belt installation, but my original belt is fine and is still on it. SO, what I want to know is can I just loosen both belt adjusting nuts, the rear torque link nut, and the rear axle nut to let me move the rear tired forward enough to let me slip the new pulley on with the belt, to make this as quick and painless as possible? Let me know what you think!

Thanks ahead of time for any advice/light you can shed on this!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Sep 2019 18:08 #810666 by TexasKZ