Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

cheap chain? or another problem 08 Jul 2006 19:47 #60320

• timber
  • timber's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
ok i ride my 650 back and forth to work alot. the dealer i got it from put on a new chain & sprockets. i have adjusted the chain three times and i see it needs it again. is it a cheap chain or could i have another problem in the works?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

cheap chain? or another problem 08 Jul 2006 21:17 #60337

• pumps
  • User
  • Thank you received: 3
I'm pretty sure it will stretch some but that might be a lot. I know this might sound dumb but you are sure it's staying adjusted? Nothing else seems loose? I thought mine seemed loose so i got out the manual and followed the how to as best as I was able..max deflection or whatever its called . Measured it, etc.tightened it up some but not as much as I thought it would be. Honestly I am not experienced enough to tell you beyond that.
Check out our site. kcvjmc.org
1977 Yamaha XS650
2000 Kaw W650
2 KZ440 LTDs , a 79 KZ400H and an 83 Belt Drive

cheap chain? or another problem 08 Jul 2006 21:31 #60344

• Leather
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
Well, first off. are you oiling it reg? bout every two hundred or so miles, is about right for a non O ring type chain, used on dry roads. Are you sure your not over tightening it in some way? That to will lead to premature wear on a chain.. I'd recommend you get a manual and get to know your spects and amounts for the bike.:unsure:

cheap chain? or another problem 09 Jul 2006 08:17 #60447

• timber
  • User
nope i dont over tighten, i do check over it on a regular basis so i dont believe it is loosening up? and yes i oil the chain twice a week, i drive 80 mi a day back and forth to work so math says i 400 mi a week. i usually check all fluid levels on monday along with grease and lube and then on wednesday or thursday.