Clueless on rear shock upgrade

More
21 Mar 2016 13:25 #716575 by Roper
Clueless on rear shock upgrade was created by Roper
Alright guys, I know this gets brought up a ton and I've done a bit of research and I'm still not sure which direction to go. I recently purchased a 79 kz650 and I would like to upgrade the rear shocks because the front fork is from a gsxr so why not upgrade the back as well eh? So basically I have absolutely no idea what to look for, and I'm not keen on spending $1k on the crazy fancy race suspension. And I do not want cheap China parts either so I would like to meet in the middle somewhere. I'm a novice rider and won't be racing around like a maniac anytime soon. I'm about 180lbs with no gear on and I'm not sure on weight of the bike. Any help is appreciated.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
21 Mar 2016 13:35 #716578 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic Clueless on rear shock upgrade
Hagons work great on my KZ650. Ed

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
21 Mar 2016 13:36 #716580 by Roper
Replied by Roper on topic Clueless on rear shock upgrade
I have heard mixed things about those, more people seem to like them than not like them. I do really like the externals reservoir look but what would I gain with that?

More
21 Mar 2016 13:43 #716584 by Grnole
Replied by Grnole on topic Clueless on rear shock upgrade
Hi - I just upgraded the shocks on my kz1000 to Hagons. I have not heard many people say negative things about them. They are moderately priced, less than progressive, but based on how you plan on riding, they have a stiffer feel to them. I personally went to them because my factory 30+ year old shocks were bottoming out. I did not get external reservoirs in mine, and I am not sure those are Hagons you are thinking of. Many of the external res shocks can be had off fleabay.