Replacement Forks - Stock or something else?

More
16 Feb 2016 06:00 #710872 by Mac55
Hey everyone, this is my first time posting on the forum, nice to meet everybody here! I have a 1983 KZ750-F1 LTD Shaft that is pretty much all stock minus mirrors. About a week ago I got into a wreck on it (only involving me, I panicked and slammed on the rear brake basically resulting in the bike going down and me going off the bike). I got pretty lucky and only separated a couple ligaments in my shoulder which are healing up pretty quickly on their own, unfortunately the bike isn't going to heal itself.

The main damage is to the front forks. I'm pretty certain they're both going to need replacing along with tree bearing and maybe the front axle. So now my question is should I get some used, stock( or similar KZ forks) off eBay for around $100 or should I be looking into aftermarket fork or maybe forks from a different model bike?

I've always felt the front suspension was a little squishy and would prefer something a little stiffer. I've seen a few customized KZs with inverted forks and similar things that look like they'd be great, but as of right now the 750 is my only vehicle and getting it back on the road quickly, and without spending more than a few hundred dollars, is a necessity. That basically means as much as I'd love to completely rebuild the front end I'm mainly looking for something I can bold everything back on to and slide right into the trees. I know this severely limits my options and I'm likely going to be forced to go stock but I just wanted to see if anyone here knows if there are other options out there.

I do plan on fully rebuilding and upgrading the bike at some point once I have other means of reliable transportation, but for now my main goal is just to get it back on the road with the best suspension I can get in my situation. What do you all think is my best option here?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More