KZ650c - new member with hopefully an easy wheel ?

More
01 Apr 2015 10:01 #666052 by Fixer
Hello KZR Members, happy to be here.
I recently bought a 77 KZ 650c and the plan is to make it a "streetfighter". I am basically a garage mechanic, not an expert and certainly no fabricator, but I can work on cars and bikes and have successfully in the past created a cool cafe sportster out of a stock Nightster.

So, along with my 7 yr old daughter (she calls herself The Fixer, hence the nickname) we will be working on making the KZ something unique to us.

I already bought a GSXR front end and sent the triple tree in to Cognito Moto to have a new stem pressed in and new bearings from All Balls as well.

I have decided to keep the stock swingarm but to get a more balanced look and ride with the new front rim (120/70/zr17) I was thinking it might be best to just swap out my stock mag 120/90/18 wheel/rim combo for a used 3x16 rim off ebay from another KZ 650.

the question I have specifically is, if I buy a rim that does not have the sprocket and disc attached, is it a direct swap to remove those items from my current stock 18 inch wheel and bolt them right to the new 16 inch wheel?

I can get the basic rim pretty cheap on ebay, and it would be somewhat confidence inspiring knowing that the brake disc and sprocket are remaining exactly the same from the donor bike.

I also plan on selling the front end , rear wheel and tire, and other assorted items I got from the seller. I will be posting those in classified soon.

thanks everyone!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
03 Apr 2015 08:35 #666381 by baldy110
Trust me nothing is going to bolt right on when doing this sort of thing. That is why no one here is answering you. I have done numerous custom swaps over the years and I can only tell you based on my experience is, "no" it will not just bolt right on.

More
04 Apr 2015 18:36 #666579 by rstnick
Welcome fixer and daughter.