ZRX shocks

More
30 Jul 2014 21:26 #642097 by Markovich
ZRX shocks was created by Markovich
I really like the look of the ZRX shocks. Quick question, will they fit my KZ1000 without modification?

1990 KZ1000P, 72k miles, 10 years in storage, new, bars, tires, chain and sprockets, seat, carbs cleaned, police equipement removed.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• Forrest
  • Sustaining Member
  • The Mad Duck
More
31 Jul 2014 00:49 #642110 by Forrest
Replied by Forrest on topic ZRX shocks
I am uncertain of a direct bolt on application. I know some forum members have used ZRX shocks and a ZRX swing arm with slight modification to either the upper mount spacing and/or swing arm pivot. I would do a search like this >>>> www.kzrider.com/forum/search?query=ZRX%20shocks&childforums=1 OR, search under the Chassis section for more info.

I own a KZ 650 and a ZRX 1200R. I am no expert on the ZRX shocks bolting on to a stock KZ swing arm. If it turns out to be a hassle and you do not wish to replace the swing arm, some shock manufacturers will work with you to provide a shock that will fit your KZ 1000. Works Performance makes shocks in this manner I replaced the stock shocks on my KZ 650 with new steel tracker units. For you new bolt on shocks made for your bikes specs could be an option for a comparable cost of used ZRX shocks and swing arm. New shocks with the piggy back reservoir are substantially more $$$ than a non reservoir dual rate shock from Works. If it all about looks you may be able to find some used ZRX shocks. The piggy back reservoir on new shocks are typically made for higher performance applications such as racing, track days, etc. The stock ZRX units are not high performance and if you buy, I suggest servicing them. They have been known to lose their nitrogen charge in the reservoir. Here is a link >>> www.worksperformance.com/html/street.html