Need some help finding a seat

More
13 Jul 2014 08:11 #639913 by cmsuter
Need some help finding a seat was created by cmsuter
I recently acquired my first motorcycle. a 1983 KZ550. It needed a wee bit of work but it is now running. Now my next obstacle is the seat. At the moment it does not have a seat and the back of the frame has been cut a little so I don't believe a factory seat will work. Since I am new to all this motorcycle stuff, I'm not sure where to start. Ideally I'd like a solo style seat but I'm not sure how to attach it. I'm already assuming I will have to take it to a machinist to get some kind of hinge or bracket welded on but I'm just not sure what exactly to get. Any help?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 Jul 2014 10:09 #639925 by bluezbike
Replied by bluezbike on topic Need some help finding a seat
As the rear is no longer stock, there's no way to help without seeing some good pictures. Are the original mounting points still on the frame etc etc :)

79 KZ 1000 LTD
77 KZ 1000 B1 LTD (awaiting electrical resurrection)

More
13 Jul 2014 10:42 #639929 by martin_csr
Replied by martin_csr on topic Need some help finding a seat
eebbaayy photos are helpful for stuff like this. Just look at the various seats & seat hinges listed there for your bike. or similar models if you think something else will work.

More
13 Jul 2014 16:37 #639959 by cmsuter
Replied by cmsuter on topic Need some help finding a seat
here is what I'm working with.

[IMG

[IMG

[IMG

More
13 Jul 2014 16:42 - 15 Jul 2014 06:38 #639960 by martin_csr
The seat hinge mounts & hinge pins are still there, as is the seat latch.
You'll need the hinges & etc when you get a seat. Some eebbaayy sellers remove the hardware & sell it separately.
Last edit: 15 Jul 2014 06:38 by martin_csr.

• Proxy
  • User
  • 80% Human 20% Nuts/Bolts
More
14 Jul 2014 04:12 #639999 by Proxy
Replied by Proxy on topic Need some help finding a seat