Rear Suspension Question - 1983 KZ 750 LTD - Omaha

More
10 Jun 2013 11:47 #591578 by upncummr
I have a 1983 KZ 750 LTD that I bought last fall. I have limited experience with motorcycles and none with a UJM like the KZ 750 LTD (my other motorcycle is a Ninja 250R) so it's hard for me to tell what's "normal" and what's "not normal" for the bike.

The rear suspension is fairly squishy. If I push down on the tail section it compresses relatively easily and rebounds without any bouncing. If I do the same thing on my Ninja 250R the tail section doesn't even compress. So there's a night and day difference between the two bikes.

The rear suspension of the KZ 750 LTD is set on 4 which is the firmest setting, but it sure doesn't seem very firm.

So my primary question is what's normal for this bike and what should I expect?

My secondary question is what part(s) are likely to need replacing and whether the stock parts are still available and if so are they desirable?

Based upon the info available in this thread it sounds like the stock components were not very good. kzrider.com/forum/5-chassis/570782-rear-...advise-needed#570785

Gary

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jun 2013 13:05 #591589 by upncummr
According to the parts diagram on Kawasaki.com the rear shock for an '83 shaft drive KZ 750 LTD (part number 45014-1203) is cancelled or no longer available. Unless that's been superseded by another factory part I guess that only leaves the aftermarket.

Gary

More
10 Jun 2013 13:37 #591596 by baldy110
First off, you are comparing the older suspension to a modern suspension. They are going to be completely different. The Ninja suspension is tuned for a sport bike and the older KZ is not. The older KZ is going to be softer just due to it's age and possible worn out. Ride it and se if you like it, if you don't like it there are numerous options in aftermarket shocks for it.

More
10 Jun 2013 13:43 - 10 Jun 2013 13:44 #591597 by Dr. Gamma