Need saddlebag mount ideas

More
01 May 2013 17:02 #585140 by Dmrennells
Need saddlebag mount ideas was created by Dmrennells
I have an 82 KZ1000 LTD that I brought back from the pasture (literally rotting on the farm). Now that it’s on the road again, I am changing a few things. I am going for an OD green look, and am looking for ideas to attach the 20mm ammo cans I have. I am a novice welder, and am expecting to make brackets. I also expect to move the turn signals. I’d like the cans to be removable. Has anyone made their own saddlebag brackets? Pictures would be great inspiration.

82 KZ1000-K2
Green Knights Dakota Thunder Chapter 68

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Jun 2013 16:03 #592729 by Dmrennells
Replied by Dmrennells on topic Need saddlebag mount ideas
Since I didn’t get any responses, I went ahead and fabricated a mount for them.

82 KZ1000-K2
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: KZ_Doc

More
18 Jun 2013 19:17 #592926 by Dmrennells
Replied by Dmrennells on topic Need saddlebag mount ideas
And to help others who are looking for mounting bracket ideas. It was just a 1"X6' of 1/8" steel. Cut it into 5 pieces. Bent, drilled, and painted. Then took the 5th piece, and use it to relocate the turn signals. They have been tested up to 30 lbs so far. I used a rubber grommet in each hole in the ammo cans, so they stay air tight.

82 KZ1000-K2
Attachments:

More
18 Jun 2013 20:07 #592941 by mopguy
Replied by mopguy on topic Need saddlebag mount ideas
Good job and thanks for sharing, now all I need are the hard bags.

I have a 1980 Kawasaki KZ750 Ltd. I bought new. I recently managed to get it out of my garage after 28 years and put it on the road again (2010). I feel like a kid all over again. Since I have acquired 3 78 KZ1000 Ltd, 1 1981 KZ1000 Ltd, and another 1980 KZ750 Ltd. Love the LTD's.

More
18 Jun 2013 21:30 #592957 by lightitup
Replied by lightitup on topic Need saddlebag mount ideas