• Page:

TOPIC:

Has anyone done any of this? 23 May 2006 16:40 #49512

• Nitwit
  • Nitwit's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Hi all,
I would like to get rid of as many of the cables, wires, etc. that are around the handlebars. I'm thinking of doing away with the speedometer and tachometer, relocating the starter button to somewhere on the right side of the chassis, eliminate the requirement that the clutch be disengaged before the starter will work, run the turn signal wires inside the handle bars, and not worry if there will be no high beam switch.
I'm not a real mechanical guy, but I kind of know how most things electrical function.
I would be interested in anyone’s experience at any or all of this.
Thanks,
Nitwit

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Has anyone done any of this? 23 May 2006 19:15 #49570

• wireman
  • Visitor
piece of cake;)

Has anyone done any of this? 24 May 2006 20:55 #49914

• KZ
  • User
I have done this. I eliminated the entire instrument cluster, mounted the ignition key into the headlight cover and removed the turn signals (check local laws on all this first). Much cleaner looking. The original bars on my 1000 LTD had internally routed wires but I put on some shorter ones and did not bother running the wire through them. All it would take is to drill a few holes though. As for the harness, I clipped off all the wires that I no longer needed where they spliced into the harness. I have had no electrical issues. Remember to plug the holes where the speedo and tach used to go.

Here is a pic

Post edited by: KZ, at: 2006/05/25 00:09

Post edited by: KZ, at: 2006/05/25 00:10
Attachments:

Has anyone done any of this? 24 May 2006 23:46 #49935

• guitargeek
  • User
  • Elitist, arrogant, intolerant, self absorbed.
  • Thank you received: 50
Here's a question: WHY??

How the hell are you supposed to know how fast your going without a speedo? How about that tach, wouldn't that be a useful item?