Forks rake ????????

• Fritula
  • Topic Author
  • User
  • holly land garage
More
29 Nov 2011 05:22 - 29 Nov 2011 05:24 #490630 by Fritula
Forks rake ???????? was created by Fritula
Hello guys I am still newbie here even I was on this forum god knows how many times,back and forth reading such a good threads. I have some question to ask hopefuly someone will know. We all heard or was, on the Japanese site PMC that makes custom parts for Z1/Z2. In the "suspension" section they do not have any of the modern looking forks (upside down),but only Yamaha Vmax forks 43mm wide for Z1 or Z2 upgrade.Comparing the lenght of those,Vmax forks are much longer than GSX or ZX6R guys are upgrading all arround. My question is: What is happening with bike geometry with short or long forks. Does forks rake play same serious role in driving.Somebody who understand that kind of matematics needed urgent. I personaly beleive that those guys know what they are doing.But question is what and how? I do have original cromed forks on my KZ900 and they look awsome,but like everyone else I would like to have wider tire in front. So I bought 05-06 ZX6R forks such a good looking-goldish.They are prity but it worries me how it is gona look.I personally like more elegant look with old style fork,but that goes with price I guess.Anybody with any knowledge of bike geometry appreciated wery well.
Last edit: 29 Nov 2011 05:24 by Fritula.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
29 Nov 2011 12:32 #490649 by 531blackbanshee
Replied by 531blackbanshee on topic Forks rake ????????
welcome fritula!

the longer forks can keep the bike closer to the stock ride hieght.which will give you more cornering clearance.which depending on your local roads may be a plus.

the shorter forks are going to lower your bike,and the zrx shocks are going to raise your rear end.which will reduce your rake and will make your bike steer quicker.

hopefully i have helped you understand a lil more.

leon