Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

rear suspension and sissy bar? 27 Oct 2005 22:37 #4846

• giftofthegods77
  • giftofthegods77's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
Okay, newbie here. Just bought a 79 KZ650 SR, to my knowledge all is standard. I noticed that my rear shocks were set to the lowest (softest) setting out of five. Streets are pretty normal, etc. No heavy weight other than my butt being hauled around. Is this right? What should I set them to?

Also, there was a sissy bar/luggage rack attached when I bought it. The bars going from the suspension bolt to the rack have a flange that sits right on top of the turn signals. It lookes like it should be bolted to something, but there is nothing there to bolt it to. Instead, it just presses down on the turn signals. Is there a way to extend the signals so they are farther out? Are there other signals that the stock round ones?

Thanks in advance and thanks for all the good tips I have already picked up from the site!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

rear suspension and sissy bar? 27 Oct 2005 23:54 #4850

• philcsand
  • User
If you could post a pic of the rack, I could help you out a bit more. On the topic of the shocks...

Set them so that the rear drops about 1/3 of the travel when you sit on the bike.

rear suspension and sissy bar? 28 Oct 2005 06:32 #4882

• rstnick
  • User
  • Thank you received: 376
Welcome to KZR.