Modern Suspension: How does it handle?

More
18 Jan 2011 08:43 #423266 by ferro72
First off I am new to the whole forum and posting thing so my apologies ahead of time if I do something stupid or offend anyone.
So I see a lot of threads about putting modern forks/swingarms on an old bike, but my question is how do they handle. A lot of these bikes have front and rear end combinations from different bikes and I wonder how they work together. There are a lot of factors (weight, weight distribution, wheelbase, etc.,etc.) that combine to determine the handling of a bike. My biggest concern is spending a lot of time and money to build a bike only to find the end result is twitchy and I don't want to ride it (putting around doesn't count) So for those of you with finished projects (I know its never finished, lets say ridable projects) How do they handle? How do you use your bike? Have you taken it to the track? Does the bike have any bad habits? What would you have done different? Any information is appreciated. And could you include not only what suspension you are running but what changes to springrates and damping if any you have made. Thanks!!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• porchev914
  • User
  • Whats that? Half of my swingarm is missing?!?!?
More
18 Jan 2011 09:39 #423273 by porchev914
Replied by porchev914 on topic Modern Suspension: How does it handle?