throttle cables

More
18 Oct 2010 09:32 #407412 by at20
throttle cables was created by at20
hey guys

i think i found a problem . when i took my carbs off to clean them on my kz400 i noticed that i have 2 throttle cables. im new at this but i think they bth should be hooked up. the bike runs but i dont think thats right. Or is it ?

i tried to hook the other cable up but when i twist the throttle it barely moves because on cable wants to turn one way and the other cable goes the other way . can someone tell me what im doing wrong or where i can get a picture because my clymers manual doesnt show it

1976 kz400

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
18 Oct 2010 10:46 #407425 by 650ed
Replied by 650ed on topic throttle cables
First, ditch the Clymers manual or use its pages in the bottom of a bird cage. If your throttle is like mine one of the cables is used to open the throttle and the other is used to close the throttle. There is an adjustment process in the Kawasaki manual that should be used. The idea of the second cable is to be able to close the throttle if for some reason it sticks open. That could keep you from going on a Toyota like ride. :laugh:

1977 KZ650-C1 Original Owner - Stock (with additional invisible FIAMM horn)

More
18 Oct 2010 13:03 #407438 by at20
Replied by at20 on topic throttle cables
i use that one cuz it came with it and it tells step by step on things but on mine when i hook up the second cable i cant even twist the control because it stop it from twisting i even tried changing them around and its still the same

1976 kz400

More
18 Oct 2010 14:33 - 18 Oct 2010 14:35 #407453 by bighamms
Replied by bighamms on topic throttle cables