kz440 front brake upgrade

• theimbalance
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
10 Jul 2010 12:55 #381541 by theimbalance
kz440 front brake upgrade was created by theimbalance
hello,
I have been lurking on this board for awhile and finally decided to register.

I am new to the 2 wheeled world, driving and working on mostly forced induction japanese 4 cylinders. This bike basically fell in my lap and so I had a vision and created a blog about it. If you want to read about how it started and where it is now, check it out: www.sakibobber.blogspot.com

Anyways, my question is concerning the front brakes. The bike in question is a 1980 kz440B with drum brakes front and rear. The front cable is seized up and I cannot find a replacement cable new or used anywhere.

My next logical solution was to upgrade the front brakes from drum to discs for many very obvious reasons. I haven't been able to find a damn thing on anyone actually doing this though - is it a taller task than I am thinking? I really don't want to swap out the entire front end.

My front forks look like they would accept a caliper, but I'm guessing that I would need a new wheel with the rotor setup? See image below. Any help is much appreciated. Thank you

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 Jul 2010 13:02 #381546 by Patton
Replied by Patton on topic kz440 front brake upgrade
theimbalance wrote:

...1980 kz440B with drum brakes front and rear. The front cable is seized up and I cannot find a replacement cable new or used anywhere....

WELCOME to KZR! We're glad you're here! :cheer:

If not already done, could inquire of MotionPro about a custom cable.

Good Fortune! :)

1973 Z1
KZ900 LTD

More
10 Jul 2010 17:50 #381580 by Samwell
Replied by Samwell on topic kz440 front brake upgrade
Don't be too ready to change to disc. I've got a '72 BMW that drums front and rear. You've just got to plan your stops in advance! :)