Brake Master Cylinders Won't Prime-'78 KZ1000 LTD

More
08 May 2010 09:05 #366431 by jtate1000
So I tore down both the front and rear brakes on my bike, and now I can't get either one to "prime" with brake fluid. I did NOT take out the MC pistons, but they both have good push and return suction (when I place my finger over the hole where the banjo bolt goes) Is there something simple I'm missing here? I thought that after bleeding everything dry I could just replace the fluid in the reservoirs and it would pull it through the system.... Obviously you can tell I'm not a brake expert. Any help is appreciated!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 May 2010 10:08 - 08 May 2010 10:14 #366449 by Patton
jtate1000 wrote:

So I tore down both the front and rear brakes on my bike, and now I can't get either one to "prime" with brake fluid. I did NOT take out the MC pistons, but they both have good push and return suction (when I place my finger over the hole where the banjo bolt goes) Is there something simple I'm missing here? I thought that after bleeding everything dry I could just replace the fluid in the reservoirs and it would pull it through the system.... Obviously you can tell I'm not a brake expert. Any help is appreciated!

When torn down for refurbishing, piston removal is required to inspect the rubber cups and inspect the bore for excessive pitting. Absent piston removal, imo there's not much point to partial dis-assembly of a master cylinder.

Objective of bleeding is to expunge all air from the brake lines.

Be sure the new brake fluid to be inserted into the line hasn't been shaken or dropped so as to contain air bubbles.