Removing and installing shocks - advice

More
27 Nov 2009 12:34 #336168 by YUKABODOS
Removing and installing shocks - advice was created by YUKABODOS
So dudes,

I want to remove the shocks to polish them up on my new buffing machine. I have a centerstand. I was hoping to just throw the bike up onto the centerstand, remove one shock at a time and clean and polish.

Question is...Anything to be concerned about when removing the shock? will it come off easily? Is there a procedure required to remove the shock. \

I have never done this before and I am looking for advise, just in case the shock comes off and knocks my 2 front chicklets out.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
27 Nov 2009 12:39 #336169 by PLUMMEN
Replied by PLUMMEN on topic Removing and installing shocks - advice
you can put block of wood or something between tire and rear fender if you want to hold it up while you do both.normally i just take bottem bolt out first,swing shock up then remove acorn nut from top and remove shock(reverse to install)carefull though cuz once the shocks are off then youll want to remove everything else off of rear half of bike to detail the frame and swingarm cuz theyll look bab next to shiny shocks! :laugh:

Still recovering,some days are better than others.

More
27 Nov 2009 13:24 #336178 by YUKABODOS
Replied by YUKABODOS on topic Removing and installing shocks - advice
Thanks, just wanted to make sure that they were not loaded under any tension and weren't going to "POP" off and hurt somebody, namely me.

I am already nursing a set of busted knuckles from last Saturday's adventures in Garage land.

I must say though, the buffing wheele and PRO grade polishing compound make short work of sidecovers, after the scratches are sanded smooth and buffed with steel wool.

More
27 Nov 2009 14:27 #336186 by MFolks
Replied by MFolks on topic Removing and installing shocks - advice