Steering Tapered Bearing

More
16 Feb 2009 19:23 #265548 by milesrhit10
Steering Tapered Bearing was created by milesrhit10
I'm rebuilding a 76 KZ900 and I am trying to put in tapered bearings but am having trouble getting the old seats out. This is my first time doing this and im really not sure what to do. Any input would help. Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• kano
  • User
  • Not Another Bloody Limey!
More
16 Feb 2009 19:41 #265552 by kano
Replied by kano on topic Steering Tapered Bearing
Outer Race Removal:

1. To remove the outer races grab your torch and Heat the FRAME around the Race (not the race itself). Take care to NOT burn or scorch the Cables/Brake Lines etc. i.e. put some layers of Aluminium Foil Around them or sheet of Aluminium. You CAN drive the Upper race COLD if you have a BFH (BIG HAMMER) and a LONG Drift, but it’s like pulling teeth. You need the Drift in any case. Wear GLOVES, thick cotton Garden gloves or Leather ones.
2. After applying the heat (Get them good and hot), Grab you LONG Drift and drive the Top Inner Race out from the Bottom, i.e. stick the Long Drift in from underneath, through the bottom of the Steering Headstock and drive the Upper race out of the Top of the Frame. Work your way around the circumference of the race until it pops out. Jean #636 notes: "The drift punch. I really fought hard dislodging the old outer races before using a Drift Punch with a 3/16" point. The one I used was made by DASCO Pro reference number 603-0. I am sure there are other tools you can use but this one made the job really easy. (for the Lower Bearing) the drift has to be at least 8-1/2" inches in length to go all the way through the frame tube."
3. Removal of the Lower outer Race is the same as for the Upper, just heat the Lower Frame AROUND the Race and drive it out using a drift placed in from the top, so that you drive the race out the BOTTOM of the (Frame) Headstock.