New Chain O-ring or Non ist that the ?

More
03 Feb 2009 22:50 #262076 by kcam1999
New Chain O-ring or Non ist that the ? was created by kcam1999
I am new to all of this. I have a 79 kz650 and love it. I love it so much that I went riding in the 39 degree weather. I now am getting a cold from this mornings ride, but it was worth it.

My question is I am replacing my chain and sprockets. I have seen on ebay that there are O-ring and non O-ring chains. First off are they worth the extra money?

Second, is there a brand that is better then another, or is there one to stay away from. I heard that with a new chain must come new sprockets is that true? Also since I am replacing them is there a sprocket combo that would give me better gas mileage at the same time. Thanks for entertaining a NOOB! Also the other posts have been most helpful.
Kcam1999

kz 650

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
04 Feb 2009 00:53 #262082 by Z1109R Fin
Replied by Z1109R Fin on topic New Chain O-ring or Non ist that the ?
Do not buy used chains / sprockets as they aren´t usually worth the work. Buy new front and rear sprockets and chain att the same time. If your bike is stock it´s easy, just contact your local dealer and get a new set. 530X-ring -chain for example.

Better gas mileage can be achieved by gettin a few teeth smaller rear or 1 tooth bigger front sprocket. This will lower your cruising RPM.

Z1000R ´83...Slightly modified...

More
04 Feb 2009 06:11 - 04 Feb 2009 06:13 #262105 by Bluemeanie
Replied by Bluemeanie on topic New Chain O-ring or Non ist that the ?