Drive Chain Suddenly loose

More
15 Oct 2008 16:08 - 15 Oct 2008 16:09 #241987 by Clearwind
Drive Chain Suddenly loose was created by Clearwind
Ok, so I'm fairly new to this whole repair thing on a bike therefore if you could dumb down any answers that would be awesome.

As for my issue, I was riding along the other day and all of a sudden my drive chain became very loose and kicked off of the rear sprocket. And I can't determine why this happened, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

With regards to the background on the issue here is what I have determined with the help of my uncle who is very mechanically inclined thus creating the mystery of the loose chain:

1. The front sprocket hasn't moved, or doesn't appear to have moved and isn't loose at all.

2. The rear tensioners also don't appear to have moved, nor has the rear tire slipped at all. (everything is as tight as it originally came.

3. According to the previous owner, he just put on a new chain, (I bought the bike in the begining of september) so there shouldn't be any strech in the chain and upon visual inspection the chain seems fine and well lubed.

However knowing the alarming rate at which parts seem to fall off this bike we were wondering if there should be a third sprocket somewhere along the chain (that may have fallen off) to take up the slack similar to what would be found on a bicycle?

Thanks in advance

Clearwind

Edit: the bike is a 1978 KZ650
Last edit: 15 Oct 2008 16:09 by Clearwind. Reason: missing info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
15 Oct 2008 16:15 - 15 Oct 2008 16:16 #241988 by fixer5000
Replied by fixer5000 on topic Drive Chain Suddenly loose