Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

newbie here 09 Feb 2006 19:53 #22848

• ltdluke80
  • ltdluke80's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 0
great site. tried the thread thing and didnt have any luck. got an 80 750 ltd(h) and noticed the center stand stop is jerked up and real close to the chain. found a thread that mentioned the stop doubling as a tensioner. does this have a duel purpose? if so is the tensioner needed? appreciate the help!
thanks,
luke

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

newbie here 09 Feb 2006 20:00 #22849

• rstnick
  • User
  • Thank you received: 376
Welcome Luke.

I doubt your centre stand stop would double as your drive chain tensioner. I have never heard of a tensioner on a KZ's drive chain. The drive chain must be adjusted to give the right amount of slack, at it's tightest point when rotating the wheel, of approx 3/4 of an inch.
Rob
CANADA

Need a key for your Kawasaki? PM me

1978 KZ650 C2, 130K kms, Delkevic ex, EI, CVK32, PMC easy clutch, ATK fork brace, steering damper, braced swingarm, 18" Z1R front wheel.
2000 ZRX1100
2011 Ninja 250R
2005 z750s

newbie here 09 Feb 2006 20:42 #22862

• ltdluke80
  • User
sorry if i cone across as an idiot. i understand the mechanics of the drive but i read someone elses post and thought i was missing something. having said that my stop appears to be misshapen and now rubs the chain in a manner which doesn't look safe>

newbie here 09 Feb 2006 21:05 #22864

• ltdluke80
  • User
maybe tensioner was the wrong word, how bout guide

newbie here 10 Feb 2006 06:37 #22905

• wiredgeorge
  • User
  • Thank you received: 44
Well... like the ol' country song says,

"You can read a lot of different stories, in a lot of different books... but even then you won't really know"