Buy a VEGA Helmet? Read this first...

• bountyhunter
  • Topic Author
  • User
More
23 Apr 2008 10:02 - 23 Apr 2008 10:08 #208466 by bountyhunter
Buy a VEGA Helmet? Read this first... was created by bountyhunter
I've been wearing a VEGA Summit helmet for a few months. I bought it new online. The fit is nice, worked fine until the internal pull wire that operates the release mechanism snapped like a twig. This is what the plastic button pushes on to release the front assembly. In the humble opinion of somebody with a mechanical engineering degree, it's flimsy. Thank God it happend as I was trying to put it ON..... and did not lock the helmet on my head.

But, stuff happens so I contacted Vega to get a replacement wire. here is the response I got, judge for yourself if you think this is customer service:

Just because you bought your helmet online doesn’t mean you are exempt from getting parts though the online dealer. I will assist you this time but in the future you need to be pro-active about getting service from the place where you made the purchase, we do not offer service or parts though our warehouse, the dealer is there to serve that purpose.

So, best case, you have to take the thing back to the dealer and pay whatever they want to charge to fix it.... if they even will.

The "local dealer" here which they directed me to use said they have no drawings for the helmets so they have no way to identify the part in question. I don't have the paperwork for the dealer I got it from online so I thought I could get support from the manufacturer and buy a part from them. I never assumed or expected to get anything free, just wanted to get the stinking part.