Front Brake Caliper Help!!

More
17 Apr 2008 07:50 #207094 by 1975KZ400D
Front Brake Caliper Help!! was created by 1975KZ400D
Ok, so I'm kind of new to working on motorcycles, but I just bought an old 1975 KZ400D and I want to try to do as much of the work myself on this bike as I can. That being said, here's my question:

By front brakes aren't reacting at all when I pull the brake lever. The brake lever pretty much just pulls all the way to the handle bar with little to no resistance. So, I've been doing some research and from what I've read, I think I need to bleed out the old brake fluid becasue when I look in the master cylindar, it looks yellow. Well, as I’m reading how to do this in my owners manual, it says to attach a hose to the bleed valve and then turn the bleed valve counter clockwise to open it up. There’s one problem with this, the bleed valve on my bike has been completely rusted off and there is still half of it stuck in the caliper. There’s only like a millimeter of the screw showing out of the top, so I can’t really get a hold of it to screw it out.

Any advice? Am I going to have to buy a new caliper?

I found one caliper online that is exactly what I need, but it's $200!! That seems a bit steep to me. I also found one on Ebay for $25, but it's for a 1975 KZ400S and I have a 1975 KZ400D. Does anyone know if these 2 different models have compatable calipers? Also, if I could somehow get the bleed screw out of my caliper, could I put a different bleed screw in mine from a different year/model of KZ?

Thanks for the help!! I really appreciate it!! I have to get my bike ready to pass inspection by next Tuesday, or I have to pay a late fee!!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
17 Apr 2008 08:20 #207101 by vach
Replied by vach on topic Front Brake Caliper Help!!
i think you could drill it out and then try to get it with an "ez out" if that doesn't work you'll need a new caliper.