Steering Lock

More
08 Nov 2007 07:05 #180107 by HerrDeacon
Steering Lock was created by HerrDeacon
I picked up a 1978 KZ650 about a month ago and found that the ignition key doesn't fit in the steering lock. Is this normal? Are they two separate keys? They guy I bought it off only had the one key so I assume it was lost over the years. I'm guessing you can buy a new steering lock assembly?

Do you guys use the steering lock at all? I'm new to motorcycles :P I'm guessing its used as a theft deterrent, or is it to make the bike more stable when parked?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
08 Nov 2007 07:41 #180110 by Sandy
Replied by Sandy on topic Steering Lock
On Your bike,is the steering-lock under the bottom triple-tree?
Mine is,and yes,I got a new one years back,from the Dealership.I think I paid around $30 for it.And it came with 2 keys(that obviously weren't the same as the ignition key).

1977 KZ1000 A-1

More
08 Nov 2007 07:42 #180111 by Bluemeanie
Replied by Bluemeanie on topic Steering Lock
From factory one key fits ign, gas cap, seat lock, and fork lock. It is supposed to be a anti theft thing. Does key work in seat lock? (gas cap is not "keyed", you can open that with a pocket screwdriver) He may have replaced ign switch (new key) Most guys here don't use fork lock. I used too until I unlocked fork at resterant and forgot to remove key and turned handle bars and snapped key off in lock 50 mi from home!! I got lucky with a twig (yes, wood twig) got broken piece out and pushed into ign and inserted rest of key and actually started the bike! I was a moron but never used fork lock after that. I now carry a strong pad lock and just put it thru outer holes in front rotor. Works great!

1980 KZ650F1, Bought new out the door for $2,162.98!

More
08 Nov 2007 08:23 #180115 by HerrDeacon
Replied by HerrDeacon on topic Steering Lock