Changing sprockets, non-KZ need opinions

More
22 May 2007 03:52 #142325 by AR15Ron
Ok, u prolly read I picked up a Ninja zx-6 really cheap. The chain and sprockets are totally worn out. I am putting this in chassis since this is kind of a general gear ratio and chain question and should apply to KZ's too.
So I looked for a set of chain and sprockets, I have 3 choices. Stock 530 chain and stock steel sprockets. 520 chain with one tooth smaller front sprocket, aluminum rear sprocket of stock size. Or 520 chain with one size smaller front sprocket, 3 teeth larger rear sprocket, aluminum rear sprocket.

I'm tempted to go for the last option, but I have never even driven the bike. Do you think that is just too drastic a ratio change from stock? I went 4 teeth larger on my KZ-1000 and LOVE it. Should I play it safe and go one tooth down in front, or go all out? Or should I keep it stock and get the steel sprockets? I have no experience with aluminum sprockets, I know they make them for my KZ but I always avoided them thinking they would probably wear out quickly. Any suggestions?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
22 May 2007 05:36 #142340 by BSKZ650
Replied by BSKZ650 on topic Changing sprockets, non-KZ need opinions
since you have not rode the bike I would put the stock set up back on it, if you dont like it then change the front to a smaller one,

77 kz650, owned for over 25 years
77 ltd1000, current rider
76 kz900, just waiting
73 z1,, gonna restore this one
piglet, leggero harley davidson
SR, Ride captian, S.E.Texas Patriot Guard Riders.. AKA KawaBob

More
22 May 2007 06:06 #142346 by Muddy
Replied by Muddy on topic Changing sprockets, non-KZ need opinions