Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC:

Charge volts 12 Nov 2006 09:39 #91428

• outatimeoutlaw
  • outatimeoutlaw's Avatar Topic Author
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
My service manual says to check the seperate output wires with meter set to ac volts. This shows to be weak,but when you test dc volts at 2000 rpm with h light on its 15 volts. Bike is an 82 KZ 1100 D1 SPECTRE. I'm
wondering if this related to ocasionaly burnning the 30 a main fuse? Battery is going on 2yrs.Seems get better with new battery.
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Charge volts 12 Nov 2006 16:01 #91474

• Samwell
  • User
  • Thank you received: 1
If you're testing the dc voltage across the battery and you're getting >14.5 volts than you've got reg/rect issues. However, if you're stator isn't putting out enough juice then you may have even bigger trouble. I'm no expert on motorcycle electrics, however, the Suzuki GS line had a weak regulator and when it went south the stator would overheat and would fail too. You may have both problems. This is why the new battery helps. Test the resistances on the stator and see what shows up.

Sam

outatimeoutlaw wrote:

My service manual says to check the seperate output wires with meter set to ac volts. This shows to be weak,but when you test dc volts at 2000 rpm with h light on its 15 volts. Bike is an 82 KZ 1100 D1 SPECTRE. I'm
wondering if this related to ocasionaly burnning the 30 a main fuse? Battery is going on 2yrs.Seems get better with new battery.

--
Current Rides: 2013 BMW R1200GSW, 1972 BMW R75/5
Current Project: 1978 KZ1000A2: Supercrank'd by Falicon, APE studs and nuts, Dyna Green coils, powder coated frame and fenders, Stainless brake lines, dual front discs, pods, Kerker Exhaust, 1075cc with JE pistons

Charge volts 12 Nov 2006 19:56 #91548

• loudhvx
  • KZr Legend
  • Thank you received: 1615